Learn and go with the flow to get where you want to go


Planets are bodies that orbit around the Sun.

The Earth is a planet.

The Sun is a star

The Sun gives life and energy to the Earth

Our solar system is made up of the Sun, nine planets, asteroids and many moons.​

The planets are:


Pluto is a “dwarf planet” so far from the sun that sometimes it is not even 

recognized as a planet.

Except for Pluto all the planets were visited by spacecraft missions that collected data and information.


  • Mercury is the closest to the sun.

  • It’s a small rocky planet.  

  • For its speed and velocity it’s named after the Roman god of communication, commerce, and  travel

  • VENUS is the second planet from the sun.

  • It’s  a small rocky planet covered by yellow clouds. Unlike the Earth, the clouds on Venus are not made of water vapor. It doesn’t rain there. Venus’ surface is very hot.

  • It’s the brightest planet in the sky. That’s the reason it was named after the Roman goddess of beauty and love.

  • EARTH – As far as we know our Earth is the only planet that has a variety and diversity of life.

  • It’s a small rocky planet.

  • Water erosion and earthquakes reshape and recreate Earth’s surface constantly.

  • It’s the third planet from the sun.

  • A moon orbits the Earth.

  • MARS is the God of War in Greek Mythology.

  • The planet got this name from its reddish color which reminded early observers of the color of blood. Mars is known also as the Red Planet.

  • It’s a rocky cold planet.

  • Two tiny moons orbit very close to the planet’s surface.

  • It’s the fourth planet from the sun.

  • JUPITER is a large gas ball 318 times bigger than Earth.

  • It’s the largest of all nine planets.

  • Jupiter has 16 known moons. There are four large moons, and 12 small ones.

  • It’s the fifth planet from the sun.

  • The planet was named after “Jove” the King of the Roman Gods.

  • SATURN  is a huge gas planet known for its thousands of bright rings.

  • It’s the sixth planet from the sun.

  • Saturn has more moons than any other planet. It has 18 moons.

  • Saturn was the God of Agriculture and symbolized time (CRONOS) in the ancient world.

  • URANUS  is a giant gas planet.

  • It is the seventh planet from the sun.

  • It has many moons. Only 15 are visible. It’s believed that further exploration will reveal more moons around the planet.

  • It’s named after the Lord of the Heavens in ancient Roman Mythology.

  • NEPTUNE is a gas planet.

  • It appears blue and due to its color was named after the God of the Seas.

  • Neptune is the eighth planet from the Sun and the fourth largest by size of the nine planets.

  • It has 8 known moons.

  • PLUTO is a very small rocky planet called “the dwarf planet”. 

  • So far it is the only planet that hasn’t been  visited by any spacecraft mission due to its distance from the Earth.

  • Pluto got its name from the God of the Underworld in ancient times.

  • Pluto is smaller than some of the solar system’s moons.